Meet the Team

The Staff

Judith Johnson

Judith has been with The Langholm Initiative since the early days and has delivered a wide range of projects for the benefit of the community. Judith manages the Weaving a Future for Eskdale Project, looking to re-energise our traditional textile industry through skills development and opportunity brokering.

Jason Railton

Jason has worked with the Langholm Initiative since 2016. With a key focus on rural poverty and employability, Jason realises the strength of empowering people of all ages to take ownership of local issues. Jason has a strong background in rural community development and understands the needs and aspirations of our area and the best ways to achieve them. Jason manages the Richer Lives project.

Kevin joins the Langholm Initiative following a 3 year spell as the Estate Manager at Fowberry Estate in Northumberland. He has previously worked as part of the Manx Sheerwater project on the isle of Rum and as a display falconer at Raptor World in Fife. He holds an MSc in Conservation Management as well as undergoing training in woodland management. Kevin will lead the new Wild Eskdale project.

Kevin Cumming
Carys Mainprize

Carys is the new project assistant for Wild Eskdale.  She hopes to inspire our next generation with the beautiful outdoors right on our doorstep. Watch this space for some exciting opportunities to get your children out and about!

Luke Tolson

Luke is our Admin Apprentice. He is passionate about his home town, describing himself as a "Langholm booy". He is working towards his SVQ in Business Administration and makes a great addition to our team.

Kate Lacey

Kate is our finance admin. She has worked in book-keeping and secretarial roles – from small one-man-band businesses to national government, and in both urban and rural environments, regarding herself as a ‘Jill of all trades’ rather than an expert in any one field.  This is the first time of working within the charitable sector.

The Board of Directors

Margaret Pool


John Hanrahan

Vice Chairperson

Anne Murray


Daniel Lacey

Eileann Bloomer

Denis Male

Campbell Scott

George Hollywood

Sarah Stuart

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • langholm-initiative-find-us


©2018 by Langholm Initiative. 

Contact us

Visit us

Buccleuch Mill, Glenesk Road, Langholm, DG13 0ES

Call us